Carrington Council

Carrington Council was incorporated on 30th March 1887. During World War 2 the council building was used by military authorities.

Carrington council chambers building, Young Street, Carrington, New South Wales. nla.pic-an24071503 Seselja, Loui, 1948-

Carrington Council Chambers. Newcastle Morning Herald, 21 May 1938.

Carrington Council Chambers. March 2016.

Carrington Council Chambers. March 2016.


One of the aldermen in the early days of Carrington Council, was David Owen, who was first elected to the council in February 1891. Owen served a brief term as Mayor from November 1891 to February 1892 to fill the vacancy of the previous Mayor, David Scott M.P. At the council meeting on 20 November 1891 Scott stated that “owing to Parliament sitting on Fridays in future he would be unable to continue his position as Mayor.”

On 27 November 1891 David Owen was elected as Mayor for the remaining months of the Mayoral term. Following the council elections February 1892 George Marsden was elected Mayor. David Owen continued serving as an alderman, and in February 1895 was again elected Mayor. Owen resigned from the council in October 1895 due to his departure from the district, moving to Western Australia. Owen served as an alderman for a total of nearly five years, and was Carrington’s fifth and ninth Mayor.

The first 10 terms of Mayoral office in Carrington were …

  1. James Stewart Rodgers (June 1887 – 1888)
  2. Alexander Mathieson (1889)
  3. James Morison (1890)
  4. David Scott (February 1891November 1891)
  5. David Owen (November 1891 – February 1892)
  6. George Marsden (1892)
  7. Alexander Thornton (1893)
  8. George Butts (1894)
  9. David Owen (February 1895October 1895)
  10. Thomas Garrett (November 1895 – 1896)
David Owen aged about 40 years, in the Carrington Council Mayoral robes. Photo courtesy of Steven Ward.

One thought on “Carrington Council

  1. This esteemed gentleman is my maternal Great Grandfather. He settled in Lithgow for some years, where he was the Inspector of Nuisances (Health Inspector), during the 1918 pandemic, he wrote a very comprehensive report on how he managed the outbreak – I have a copy of this report. He was born on the 14th July 1859 in Wales – came to Australia with his parents age 4 on the ship Tarquin – to Sth Australia. I’m not sure when he and his family moved to Newcastle. His father was an engineer in charge of smelters. He died on 13th January 1947. He was dearly loved and adored by all his family – esp. my mother E. Valmai (Thomas) Jenkins. Christine Jenkins – Toowoomba. 4350

Leave a Reply

Comments on this site are moderated and will not appear until approved by the website owner. Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *